Saturday, December 29, 2012

A Little Bit About Me

While I'm not new to the blogging scene, I wanted to tell you a bit about me in case you're new here. So, grab a drink and read along!

Name: Katie or Kate {by my family and close friends}. Do I love my Do I like my name...sure, it'll do and has served me well for the past 31 years. I suppose its better than some.

Height: 5'7" - {though my old high school volleyball program read differently}

Relationship Status: Happily married to the most wonderful guy for me. He is sweet, smart as hell, HOT, loving, an amazing dad, funny {though often found laughing at his own jokes}, and just about the most frustrating person I have ever met...all rolled up into one big ball of love.

Kiddos: I'm mom to the most amazing little boy, C. He has changed almost everything about my life, but for the better (and sometimes the very challenging). I always knew I wanted to be a mother, but never thought I would be lucky enough to have such a great little guy - he is so intelligent, stubborn, handsome, funny and absolutely adorable.

Location: Nebraska - and before you ask, I did grow up on a farm and loved every minute of it...well, most of the time. Those other times included when my dad felt I needed to walk beans or clean out the pig shed. Yuck.

Occupation: I work in casino marketing for the world's largest gaming company...and they have been great to me for the past 9 years.

College: Major: Travel/Tourism {no I didn't want to be a travel agent!}. Minor: Marketing/Management from the University of Nebraska-Kearney. {You can't spell drunk without U-N-K!} That little phrase there coupled with the fact that at the time they had Chick-Fil-A in the Student Union made my college choice.

Family: my parents {still married}, three older sisters {sorry, ladies, had to throw that in there} and a younger, much taller/balder brother.

Car: 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee...yeah, me and about a million other people. {Which, by the way, my hubs still refers to as my "push present" although I know better and didn't actually get one.}

Lucky number: I don't really believe in these, although I'm not a fan of odd numbers and would choose even every time.

Music preferences: growing up I hated country music and only listen to Top 40s, pop, R&B and rap {yeah, this small town farm girl was pretty street - I can rap all of Snoop Dogg's "Lodi Dodi" - true story}. Through the hubs I picked up a love for country music - specifically Kenny Chesney - and these days choose that over any other type.

Best movie(s) ever: if you know me, you know I {heart} movies, mostly going to them in the theater with a big vat of buttery popcorn in my right hand and a large diet Mt. Dew in my left. My all-time favorite movie is Now & Then - back in the day my 3 best girlfriends and I assigned each character based on who they fit most. I was "Teeny" {not sure, though, what that says about me if you know the movie}. Rolling right along in the tween genre, I'm also a Twilight lover. Big time. And I'm Team Edward, in case you wondered. And I'm beyond devastated that it's over. I'm also a big fan of BeachesBreakfast at Tiffany's and I could watch The Devil Wears Prada over and over and over. You know, the classics.

Exercise style: a great work to describe my exercise style is sporadic. I have great intentions, but these days with a toddler getting up early enough or having the energy later in the day to exercise doesn't usually happen. I workout 3 to 5 times per week, usually closer to 3, this week closer to once + a handful of ab exercises.

What time do I wake up in the morning?:  now that the kiddo is back to sleeping through the night, my normal routine is to wake-up any time between 5am and 7am, depending on what I have going on at work that day. Very rarely do I sleep past 8am these days.

A few fun facts about me:
{Have you ever seen Us Weekly's '25 Things You Don't Know About Me'? Whelp, it's my absolute most fave magazine AND I've always wondered what mine would I snagged this opp!}
  1. I don't know what I would do without my iPhone.
  2. Being pregnant with my son and his birth are my greatest accomplishments.
  3. I'm also pretty proud of my success at work.
  4. Though sometimes I wish I could stay at home with my son so as not to miss so many of his milestones. {Shoot, I'm sure that would last about a month!}
  5. I love to travel. I also love flying. The anticipation of going somewhere is overwhelming.
  6. However, I do not like unpacking.
  7. My favorite food forever had been Chick-Fil-A chicken nuggets. That is until I had a terrible case of morning sickness while eating said nuggets and that love is no more.
  8. I {heart} caffeine -specifically Diet Mtn. Dew and Green Mountain Coffee English Toffee k-cups with two dollops of Coffee-Mate Carmel Macchiato creamer. 
  9. Getting a handwritten card is waaaay better than an email or a text.
  10. I lived in Manhattan for four months doing my internship for the New York Knicks at Madison Square Garden. It was one of the best experiences of my life.
  11. I refuse to litter. 
  12. I cannot sing at all. I used to think I could, and evidently so did my mom, because she used to make me sing in a group with my sisters at church on Sundays in front of the whole congregation.
  13. I love to shop. Shoes and clothes primarily, but I also love browsing Target, the grocery store, online...anything at all that has to do with shopping.
  14. Someday I will own a clothing boutique.
  15. I love photography and wish it could be my profession.
  16. I bite my fingernails and despise myself for doing it.
  17. I absolutely love running outside. I completed my first half marathon in September and hope to do quite a few more this year.
  18. I love to read - I just wish I had more time to do it.
  19. I wish I were more creative than I actually am. Pinterest has been a bit of a lifesaver for me.
  20. I love a great pair of heels and everyone who knows me will attest to this and the fact that you rarely see me wear anything else.
  21. I don't cook, or clean for that matter. {Yeah, my hubs picked out a broken model}.
  22. I think I have a slight case of ADD. Even when I'm laying on the couch, I have to be doing something {on the internet, playing sudoku or solitaire, flipping through a magazine}. It frustrates the hubs...bad.
  23. I keep Blistex with me at all times and apply it approximately 1,200 times a day. I have one located in my make-up bag, my purse, my car, my gym bag, at both offices, on my nightstand, in the crease of "my couch" at home. 
  24. I pray frequently for the health and well-being of those close to me.
  25. I have the best family and friends ever. Period.
  26. I love wine. And generally the cheap stuff. {Keepin' it classy.}
Hopefully now you know a little something about me...and it didn't scare you away!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comments make me smile! Thanks for taking the time to share some love =)